Report card: Naharbari
What Naharbari had in the Census 2011 Village Directory, facility by facility, next to the share of villages in Baksa district that had the same.
Census 2011 — conditions may have changed since. This is the official record from 2011, not today's situation.
Water and sanitation
5 of 8 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Treated tap water | Not available | 51% of 406 villages |
| Untreated tap water | Available | 32% of 406 villages |
| Covered well | Available | 50% of 406 villages |
| Hand pump | Available | 92% of 406 villages |
| Tube well / borehole | Available | 82% of 406 villages |
| Tank, pond or lake | Available | 44% of 406 villages |
| Closed drainage | Not available | 3% of 406 villages |
| Open drainage | Not available | 17% of 406 villages |
Roads and transport
0 of 5 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| All-weather road | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 78% of 406 villages |
| Public bus service | Not available · nearest 5–10 km away | 33% of 406 villages |
| Railway station | Not available | 5% of 406 villages |
| National highway | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 7% of 406 villages |
| State highway | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 8% of 406 villages |
| Distance to the sub-district headquarters | Not reported | district median 139.5 km |
| Distance to the district headquarters | Not reported | district median 30 km |
| Distance to the nearest town | 30 km | district median 25 km |
Education
1 of 7 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-primary school (nursery, LKG, UKG) | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 38% of 406 villages |
| Primary school | Available · 1 in the village | 96% of 406 villages |
| Middle school | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 58% of 406 villages |
| Secondary school | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 16% of 406 villages |
| Senior secondary school | Not available · nearest 5–10 km away | 4% of 406 villages |
| Arts and science degree college | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 2% of 406 villages |
| Vocational training school / ITI | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | <1% of 406 villages |
Health
2 of 10 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Health sub-centre | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 19% of 395 villages |
| Primary health centre (PHC) | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 8% of 395 villages |
| Community health centre (CHC) | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 1% of 395 villages |
| Dispensary | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 2% of 395 villages |
| Allopathic hospital | Not available · nearest within 5 km | <1% of 395 villages |
| Family welfare centre | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 6% of 395 villages |
| Veterinary hospital | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 2% of 395 villages |
| Anganwadi centre | Available | 93% of 406 villages |
| ICDS nutrition centre | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 34% of 406 villages |
| ASHA health worker | Available | 83% of 406 villages |
Power
1 of 2 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Power for homes | Available | 91% of 406 villages |
| Power for farming | Not available | 3% of 406 villages |
| Power for homes, summer | 8 h a day | district median 8 h a day |
| Power for homes, winter | 6 h a day | district median 10 h a day |
Post, phone and internet
1 of 5 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Post office | Not available · nearest 5–10 km away | 2% of 406 villages |
| Sub post office | Not available | 17% of 406 villages |
| Landline telephone | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 11% of 406 villages |
| Mobile phone coverage | Available | 63% of 406 villages |
| Internet café / Common Service Centre | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 3% of 406 villages |
Banks and markets
3 of 8 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial bank | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 4% of 406 villages |
| Cooperative bank | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 1% of 406 villages |
| ATM | Not available | <1% of 406 villages |
| Agricultural credit society | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 1% of 406 villages |
| Self-help group (SHG) | Available | 90% of 406 villages |
| Ration shop (PDS) | Available | 78% of 406 villages |
| Regular market / mandi | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 21% of 406 villages |
| Weekly haat | Available | 75% of 406 villages |
Community facilities
1 of 5 listed facilities available
| Facility | In the village | Villages in Baksa with it |
|---|---|---|
| Community centre | Not available · nearest more than 10 km away | 16% of 406 villages |
| Sports field | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 68% of 406 villages |
| Public library | Not available · nearest within 5 km | 3% of 406 villages |
| Polling station | Available | 80% of 406 villages |
| Birth and death registration office | Not available · nearest 5–10 km away | 10% of 406 villages |
Nearest town: Nalbari (MB)
Population (Census 2011)
- Population
- 476
- Households
- 93
- Men
- 239
- Women
- 237
- Women per 1,000 men
- 992
- Literacy rate (age 7 and over)
- 75.5%
- Children aged 0–6
- 39
- Scheduled Castes
- 1
- Scheduled Tribes
- 234
- Workers
- 140
- Area
- 186 ha
Sources
- Source: Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India — Village Amenities, Census 2011, via data.gov.in · Licence: Government Open Data License – India · censusindia.gov.in
- Source: Office of the Registrar General & Census Commissioner, India — Primary Census Abstract, Census 2011, via data.gov.in · Licence: Government Open Data License – India · censusindia.gov.in
